Route des Crêtes

Image
Reaching this place was an exercise to keep a promise, specifically, hubby’s promise to take me to this exact same spot which I saw in a photo of him with business colleagues. When I wheedled out that promise from him, I didn’t expect that driving up hairpin bends was something that I had to undergo to enjoy a bird’s eye view of Cassis near Marseille. A first for me was seeing people scaling a 394-meter sheer cliff. They had reached the top by the time I thought to take a photo. I had butterflies in my tummy and trembly feet just looking at them. For me, going a half meter away from the edge was only possible on my bum. Crawling on my hands and knees was not an option either because the ground was too rocky. What a wimp!

I will leave the heroic deeds to others. I came for the view and I got it. That plus the certainty that heights are heady but surfaces just a little bit above sea level are fine by me.

One thought on “Route des Crêtes

  1. “Just never forget to be dexterous and deft.
    And never mix up your right foot with your left.
    And will you succeed?
    Yes! You will, indeed!
    (98 and 3/4 percent guaranteed.)”
    ― Dr. Seuss, Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

Leave a Reply

