The Bubble Maker

ImageThis is Peter and I saw him in the city center making huge bubbles that transformed the square into a magical place. People slowed down and for a few seconds, their faces showed a childlike wonder as they looked at the bubbles lazily floating in the air before bursting. Just as quickly, the wonder disappeared from their faces and they went on their way, maybe thinking that there was a friend to meet, a shop to enter, a meal to cook, work to be done, a train to catch…all those myriad thoughts that constantly besiege our brains.

I watched Peter for several minutes until I couldn’t stand being an observer anymore. I went to him and told him, politely of course, that I wanted to take over. It was not easy, this bubble-making magic. The plastic rods were heavier than I expected. You needed to work with the wind and the hand movements needed some practice. But I was successful in making a few huge ones. Before I left, I got Peter’s recipe for the bubble solution. His magic ingredient made me laugh.

One of these days in the neighborhood playground, you’ll see me there making bubbles.

Leave a Reply

